Essentials of Buddhism
The workings of the mind are examined with great precision in these buddhateachings of the Buddha that originated in India over 2000 years ago. However the way to freedom lies not merely in a scholarly study of these teachings, but primarily in practicing meditation and mindfulness. The reality of suffering draws many to Buddha’s teachings; the teachings are not about suffering though. Instead they are about ultimate freedom, and the exuberance that this freedom is accessible to all. Strive to be a Buddha, not a Buddhist!
Four Noble Truths
1. Suffering exists
2. Suffering arises from attachment to desires
3. Suffering ceases when attachment to desire ceases
4. Freedom from suffering is possible by practicing the Eightfold Path

Noble Eightfold Path

 Three Qualities  Eightfold Path
 Wisdom (panna)  Right View
 Right Thought
 Morality (sila)  Right Speech
 Right Action
 Right Livelihood
 Meditation (samadhi)  Right Effort
 Right Mindfulness
 Right Contemplation

Three Characteristics of Existence
1. Impermanence (anicca)
2. Sorrow (dukkha)
3. Selflessness (anatta)

Unwholesome mental states that impede progress towards enlightenment.   
1. Sensuous lust
2. Aversion and ill will
3. Sloth and torpor
4. Restlessness and worry
5. Sceptical doubt

Factors of Enlightenment
1. Mindfulness
2. Investigation
3. Energy
4. Rapture
5. Tranquility
6. Concentration
7. Equanimity

This material adapted from Buddhaweb.org


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s